To qualify for MA-EPD, you must be certified disabled by the Social Security Administration (SSA) or the State Medical Review Team (SMRT). You also must also be working, paying Medicare and Social Security taxes, and earning at least $65 per month. When you enroll in MA-EPD, you have to pay a monthly premium for your coverage.
This article will help you understand:
- If MA-EPD is right for you
- Different ways you may qualify for MA if you have a disability
- What services it covers
- How much you will have to pay, and
- How to sign up.
If after reading this article, you need more help in understanding MA-EPD, we recommend you talk to trained experts who can help you. Here are some good resources:
- Visit or call your local county human services agency.
- If you have a disability, Talk to an Expert to learn more about health programs for people with disabilities.
- If you do not speak English, call the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) Multilingual Referral Line.
- MA-EPD's $20,000 asset limit is much higher than disability-based MA’s $3,000 limit.
- If your assets increase so much that you no longer qualify for MA-EPD, you may be able to qualify for MA through other rules that have no asset limit.
- There's no earned income limit.
- You pay a monthly premium that is based on how much income you have.
- You can get it and Medicare at the same time, if you qualify.
- If your MA-EPD premium is high, you may find that MinnesotaCare or individual insurance plans on MNsure cost you less each month.
- If you don’t have any form of health coverage, you may have to pay a tax penalty.
Learn how Minnesota benefits can help you get ahead when you work by watching the short video below.